Log in

Recognizing & Honoring Deserving Nurses

Michigan has many nurses whose outstanding and heroic contributions should be recognized and honored and ANA-Michigan has established eight different awards to recognize excellence in Michigan nursing. 

The ANA-Michigan Nominations Committee is changing the award nominations process for 2024 and beyond. Nominations will now be accepted on a rolling basis. Awards received between December 1 and March 31 will be considered for the year in which the awards are presented. Award nominations received after March 31 and before December 1 will be considered for the following year. Anyone selected to receive an award will be notified and invited to attend the ANA-Michigan Conference to receive their award in person. Details will be provided at the time of notification.

Please note the following if you are not selected to receive an ANA-Michigan Nurse Recognition Award:

  • If you are not selected to receive an award, you will be notified.
  • If you are not selected to receive an award, please note that your nomination form will NOT be held in the system to be reviewed again the following year.
  • If you are not selected to receive an award, please consider submitting for another award or revamping your nomination form before submitting it again.
  • All nomination forms will be reviewed based on the date they were received by the system and deadlines outlined above.
  • Incomplete nomination forms will not be considered by the Nominations Committee.


Dorothea Milbrandt Nurse Leader Award

The Dorothea Milbrandt Nurse Award has been created to honor nurses who have demonstrated excellence in building successful mentoring relationships with other nurses and/or nursing students. This award is presented on behalf of the late Dorothea Milbrandt, RN, MPS, MSN, who had an important and lasting impact on nursing in Michigan for nearly 40 years.

Friend of Nursing Award

The Friend of Nursing Award is conferred on a non-nurse who has rendered valuable assistance to the nursing profession.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual’s longstanding commitment to and profound impact on nursing.

Public Policy Advocate Award

The Public Policy Advocate Award recognizes a nurse who has demonstrated success in using public policy and advocacy as strategies in advancing nursing in Michigan.

Exceptional Promise Award

The Exceptional Promise Award aims to spotlight up to five (5) aspiring nursing students for their skills today and promise for tomorrow.

Future Nurse Leader Award

The Future Nurse Leader Award is annually given yearly to a recent (within two years of graduation) nursing school (ADN, BSN) graduate who demonstrates great potential for leadership in the profession.

Innovation Award

The Innovation Award will identify a health care organization (hospitals, public health departments, mental health facilities, etc.) for an innovative practice/approach which improves nursing and patient outcomes.

Collaborative Practice Award

The Collaborative Practice Award will identify an interdisciplinary team that demonstrated a collaborative approach on a project which involved best practice(s) and resulted in improved patient outcomes or improvement to nursing practice.

2024 Award Winners

Exceptional Promise Award

Angela Miller, SNA

Nurse Leader Achievement Award

Cathy Dockery, CNO, MBA/HCM, BSN, RN, RT

Lifetime Achievement Award

Janet Baiardi, PhD, RN, FNP-BC 

Collaborative Practice Award

MyMichigan Medical Center Midland

Team Members:

  • Heather Bartlett, BSN, RN, CEN
  • Jenna Conner, Coordinator RN-BSN, RN
  • Zachary Sawaya, MD-Emergency Department Physician

Innovation Award

Trinity Health Oakland

Team Members:

  • Doug Dascenzo DNP, RN, CENP
  • Renay Gagleard DNP, MSN, C-CNS, RNBC, CENP
  • Olivia Keesee MBA, MSN, RN, AGCNS-BC
  • Brittany McGarry MSN, RN
  • Leisa Krieger BSN, RN

2501 Jolly Rd. Suite 110
Okemos, MI 48864

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software